Home :: Academic :: School of Studies :: SCHOOL OF STUDIES IN PHYSICS
Programmes Offered :
  • M.Sc. (Choice Based Credit System)
  • M.Phil.
  • Ph.D.

Profile of the Department :
The Physics Department started in 1972 with initial intake of 10 students and only one specialization (Electronics). At present the intake number has increased to 45 and three specializations are in (i) Integrated electronics, (ii) Materials Science and (iii) Computer Applications in Physics. The present course is aimed to prepare the students for teaching and research in the modern and challenging areas of Physics. The courses are so planned that they provide on one hand the basic understanding of the emerging areas of Physics and on the other it lays emphasis on their application in research and technology.

M. Sc. Physics: (Four semesters, one semester is of six months duration)
Eligibility : B.Sc. with Physics/Electronics and Mathematics with 50% marks.
Available Seats: Open = 40;     Payment = 05;     NRI = 07
Mode of Selection : On the basis of the Index based on the merit in qualifying examinations.
Faculty :
Prof. D.C. Tiwari Plasma Physics Prof. U. P. Verma, Head Computational Material Science
Prof. A.K. Shrivastava Crystal Growth Prof. P. Rajaram Thin Film and Solar Cell
Prof. Mahesh Prakash Nuclear Physics Prof. R. K.Tiwari Crystallography
Prof. Neeraj Jain Thin Film Dr. Dinesh C. Gupta Computational Material Science
Course Structure :
Semester - I Semester - II
Methods in Mathematical Physics Classical Electrodynamics, Plasma & Antennae Physics
Classical Mechanics Non-Relativistic Quantum Mechanics – I
Electromagnetism and Laser Optics Cond. Mat. Physics – I
Semiconductor electronics Digital Electronics, N A & Computer Programming
General Laboratory General Laboratory
Electronics Laboratory Electronics Laboratory
Semester - III Semester - IV
Quantum Mechanics–II Nuclear Physics
Atomic, Moleculer Phys & Nuclear Instrumentation Instrumentation & Cosmic rays
Conden. Matter Physics – II Statistical Mechanics
Special Paper (any one)
Microwave & Optical Communication
Material Science – I
Computer Application in Physics – I
Special Paper (any one)
Integrated Electronics
Material Science – II
Computer Applications in Physics – II
General Laboratory General Laboratory
Electronics / Mat. Sc./ Computronics Laboratory Electronics / Material Sc. / Computronics Lab.

M. Phil.
Eligibility : M.Sc. (Physics) passed with 55% marks.
Total Seats: Open = 10      NRI = 02
Mode of Selection : On the basis of merit in test conducted by the university.
Course Structure :
Semester - I Semester - II
Research Methodology in Physics Advance Topics in Physics
Selected Topics in Physics Dissertation

Ph.D. : As per rules lay down by the university from time to time.

Fees for the courses:
Course I Semester II Semester III Semester IV Semester
Open Seats -
M.Sc. Physics Rs. 8835.00 Rs. 4925.00 Rs.5795.00 Rs. 4925.00
M.Phil. Rs. 15440.00 Rs. 12025.00

Payment Seat: M.Sc. : Additional Rs. 7000/- per year.
NRI Seat : Fees payable as per university rules.